Overview of Account Management

The following tutorial will provide an overview of managing an Uptime.com account. It describes the process for creating a new user or editing an existing user within your Uptime.com account. This tutorial assumes a user with owner or admin level privileges

Users generally have access to reports, can log into Uptime.com, can view checks (with higher permission levels needed to edit or create checks), access subaccounts (if enabled), and can receive emailed invoices and reports. All such permissions can be customized at the individual user level.

Beyond permissions and user provisioning, Account Owners can also establish account-wide security requirements like 2FA or Single Sign-On (SSO).

Table of Contents

User Profile

Return

The User Profile page is used to configure the profile of the user currently logged into Uptime.com. Single user accounts will use this page to designate when uptime reports should be sent, and to change profile data such as email address or account name.

Access this menu by clicking Your Name to expand the menu, then click User Profile:

expand-user-menu.png

Editing Your User Profile

Return

If you need to change something in your user profile, or control some of the email that Uptime.com sends to you, click Actions > Edit next to your username. The screen below shows the basic Update Account User fields available. You will see a similar screen when editing your user profile.  

ss_new_user_profile_fields.png

Date & Time Format Selection

Return

Select your preferred Date & Time formatting schemes using the appropriate drop down menus. This will affect systems displayed internally in the UI, such as Check alert logs and metrics, Audit Log entries, and reports. External systems, like REST API outputs or public Status Pages, are not affected.

Please note: These changes are made at the individual user level, and will not affect other users in the account.

User Accounts Page

Return

The Account Users page (Settings > Users) allows you to filter users by subaccount (if enabled), create a new user, or edit existing users for your Uptime.com account. 

At-a-glance, you can also view Access Level as well as the state of important attributes such as 2FA requirements or SAML SSO logins.

 

users-page.png

User Management

Return

Adding a New User

Return

From the User Accounts page (Settings > Users), click New User, then give your user a First and Last Name and an Email Address. User Access Level and 2FA Override are also set from this screen.

A User has one of the following access levels:

  • View Only: Can only view checks or reports
  • View & Modify: Can view checks and reports, and can modify checks
  • Administrator: Has the most privileges aside from the account owner, and access to all subaccounts (if enabled). Can access invoices, but cannot update Credit Card info. May also add additional users.

user-permissions_2.gif

Additionally, you can Enable API Access, or choose to Send New Invoices via Email. 

 

 

Non-Owner Purchasing Permissions

Return

Any users on the account with the Access Level of Administrator and View & Modify are able to purchase checks on the account.

When on the Users page (either adding or editing a user) the Allow add on purchase checkbox allows the user to purchase add-ons such as additional checks from the Billing > Manage Add-Ons page. 

Please Note: Only the account owner can enable this option for other users.

 

Allow_non-owners_purchase.gif

 

 

Adding a New User via Identity Provider (SSO-specific)

Return

For accounts with Single Sign-On (SSO) enabled, users can be provisioned from the Identity Provider side without having a pre-existing account on the Uptime.com side. 

This user will default to View Only permissions, but can be changed afterwards. 

For more information, see our article on Configuring SSO for Uptime.com.

Email Verification

Return

When a new user has been created, Uptime.com will email a verification link to the new user’s email address.

new-user-email.png

The new user can click this link to create a password for the Uptime.com account.

reset-password.png

Once a password is set, the user will be redirected to the Uptime.com login page to enter the email address and password associated with the new account.

Securing User Accounts

2FA and 2FA Override

Return

Two-factor authentication (2FA) offers Time-Based One-Time Password (TOTP) authentication for every account and subscription plan. This additional layer of security is an excellent alternative for accounts that do not utilize SSO and is a highly recommended step in account security.

2FA can be required for all users by checking the Require two-factor authentication (2FA) for all users checkbox:

ss_2fa_enforce_checkbox.png

2FA settings can also be set for individual users via the 2FA Override drop-down:

ss_2fa_requirement_individual_level.png

Once activated, users must establish their 2FA or TOTP provider for subsequent logins.

ss_2fa_setup.png

2FA is normally an account-wide setting, but can be overridden under two circumstances:

  • Utilizing SSO for account access
  • Changing an individual user’s 2FA access requirements 

2fa.png

Please note: Account owners and administrators can require or disallow 2FA for any user. However, the account’s current default 2FA access is applied to new users when they are created.

Single Sign-On (SSO)

Return

If SSO is enabled on your account, it can be used to manage Uptime.com user logins and access via an Identity Provider (IdP).

For a detailed guide for setting up SSO, see our article Configuring SSO for Uptime.com.

Please note: SSO logins can be enforced at the account level, which will disable all normal logins (except for Account Owners, in case of IdP-sided failure). To enable this, contact support@uptime.com.

Changing a User's Password

Return

Administrator users and owners cannot change a user's password. The user can change these credentials on the login screen. Click Forgot Your Password? and complete the password reset form:

change-password.png

Once logged in, you can change your password when you click your username followed by Change Password:

change-password-menu.png

Changing the Account Owner

Return

To change the owner user of an Uptime.com account:

  1. Ensure the user you want to switch ownership to is an existing user in your Uptime.com account.
  2. If possible, the existing owner should contact support@uptime.com and include the user name/email for the user who will become the owner.  
  3. After verification, Uptime.com Support will switch owner user accounts.

Please note: The former owner user is not deleted during this process, and retains administrator permissions.

Final Thoughts

Return

Account management is a crucial part of all organizations, and establishing rules early regarding access, privilege, and security will make the process much easier.

If you need additional help, our Support team is always available to assist: just email support@uptime.com!

 

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 7 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.

Have more questions?
Submit a request
Share it, if you like it.