Invoicing with Uptime.com

This brief article will cover invoicing functionality with Uptime.com, enabling administrators to choose how and by what method invoices are received. Invoices contain personal payment information, as well as important account data, and are typically viewable only by the account owner or administrator. However, it is possible to designate a specific user with read-only permissions, that also does not hold administrator account status, to receive invoices via email.

We will begin with general usage of invoices, including payment and receipts, and then provide instructions for sending invoices to a specific user. This tutorial assumes you are logged in as an Uptime.com owner account, and that your account has more than one Uptime.com user created.

Invoicing and General Usage

Account owners and administrators can access the Invoice page to view a history of all invoices attributed to the Uptime.com account. Click Billing>Invoices to see a reverse-chronological list of every invoice associated with the account.  

These users can click Invoice to see a copy of the invoice from Uptime.com, and current payment status will be listed under Response.

The Account Details Screen

Your Uptime.com invoice will contain the account details for the Owner’s profile, even if the invoice is sent to another user. These details are accessible when you click Settings>Account Details.

account-details-menu.png

From this screen, account Owners can edit the Company name, phone number, address, and set the account timezone. New invoices will reflect any changes to Company name, phone number, and address, but not timezone (which is set in GMT/UTC). 

account-details.png

The invoice you will receive from Uptime.com uses information from the following fields:

  • Company
  • Phone
  • Address

Additionally, the invoice will contain the date issued and your invoice number as well as the company address and name of Uptime.com.

invoice.png

Payment methods can be changed by account Owners only from the Billing Settings page.

Sending an Invoice from Uptime.com to a Specific User

Any user on an Uptime.com account can receive invoices regardless of account status.

Navigate to Settings>Users, then locate the user who should receive invoices from the list of registered Uptime.com users. Click the Actions>Edit, and tick the box to Send New Invoices Via Email from the User Edit screen. Checking this box will send future invoices via email directed to the address that belongs to the designated user.

Designated User Privileges

Invoicing in Uptime.com is privilege-based, meaning that only account Owners can change billing settings. This includes modifying or changing the primary credit card, debit card, or PayPal associated with the account, and changing subscription status.

Owners can designate a user (or users) to receive invoices via email, but those designated users cannot pay or respond to invoices.

Tips and Best Practices

Consider hierarchy when creating an account, especially for larger companies with more users attached to a single account. Owners are usually those able to make a purchase on behalf of your company, while administrators and user accounts can handle the functionality of creating checks and monitoring alerts.

Anyone on your staff that needs to view or process invoices internally can do so without Owner privileges. With email, these users don’t even need to log in to Uptime.com.

Inspect Plan Usage

At any time, you may view the details of your plan usage for Uptime.com services. This screen will help administrators looking to maximize the value of Uptime.com with a quick overview of several important account metrics including:

  • Checks used
  • Available locations
  • Monthly SMS and Call numbers
  • Any SMS credits available
  • Number of users on an account
  • Availability of API, Content Matching, and Custom Branded Reporting services
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful