The following tutorial will describe the functionality for creating a new user or editing an existing user within your Uptime.com account.
The following tutorial will describe the functionality for creating a new user or editing an existing user within your Uptime.com account. This tutorial applies to users with owner or admin level privileges.
Navigate to Settings>Users to access the Users menu.
Table of Contents
- User Profile
- User Accounts Page
- Adding a New User
- Changing a User's Password
The User Profile page is used to configure the profile of the user currently logged into Uptime.com. Single user accounts will use this page to designate when uptime reports should be sent, and to change profile data such as email address or account name.
Access this menu by clicking your name>User Profile from the bottom left-hand corner:
If you need to change something in your user profile, or control some of the email that Uptime.com sends to you, click Actions>Edit next to your username. The screen below shows the basic Update Account User fields available. You will see a similar screen when editing your user profile.
The account users page allows you to filter users by subaccount (if subaccounts are enabled), create a new user, or edit existing users for your Uptime.com account.
At-a-glance, you can also view Access Level as well as the state of important attributes such as 2FA requirements.
From the User Accounts page, accessed via Settings>Users, click New User, then give your user a First and Last Name and an Email Address. User Access Level and 2FA Override are also set from this screen.
A User has one of the following access levels:
- View Only: Can only view checks or reports
- View & Modify: Can view checks and reports, and can modify checks
- Administrator: Has the most privileges aside from the account owner, and access to all subaccounts (if enabled). Can access invoices, but cannot update Credit Card info. May also add additional users.
Additionally, you can Enable API Access, or choose to Send New Invoices via Email.
Two-factor authentication is normally an account-wide setting, but can be overridden under two circumstances:
- Utilizing SSO for account access
- Changing an individual user’s 2FA access requirements
Account owners and administrators can require or disallow 2FA for any user, however the account’s current default 2FA access is applied to new users when they are created.
Uptime.com will email a verification link to the new user’s email address.
The new user can click this link to create a password for the account.
Once a password is set, the user will be redirected to the Uptime.com login page to enter the email address and password associated with the new account.
To change the owner user of an Uptime.com account:
- Ensure the user you want to switch ownership to is an existing user in your Uptime.com account
- If possible, the existing owner should contact firstname.lastname@example.org and include the user name/email for the user who will become the owner.
- After verification, Uptime.com Support will switch owner user accounts
- The former owner user is not deleted during this process, and retains administrator permissions
Administrator users and owners cannot change a user's password. The user can change these credentials on the login screen. Click Forgot Your Password? and complete the password reset form:
Once logged in, you can change your password when you click your username followed by Change Password: