Invoicing and Account Access with Uptime.com

This brief article will cover account access and invoicing functionality with Uptime.com. A user’s access to Uptime.com is restricted to the permission level and account access methods available to that user. This article will further detail these methods, and offer some tips and use cases on permission levels with regards to invoicing and general security requirements.

This tutorial assumes you are logged in as an Uptime.com owner or administrator user, and that your account has more than one Uptime.com user created.

Table of Contents:

My Subscription

Upgrading Your Subscription

Viewing Invoices

Account Details

Two Factor Authentication

Sending an Invoice

Designated User Privileges

Tips and Best Practices

My Subscription

Return

The My Subscription page is available to account owners and administrators. Users with the correct permissions can  upgrade, view payment methods, view a history of all invoices attributed to the Uptime.com account, and view the current account usage. To access, click Billing>My Subscription.

Please note: To change an account's owner, contact support@uptime.com.

 

unnamed.png

 

Upgrading Your Subscription

Return

Users with account ownership can click subscription under Upgrade to add features, and are the only users who can add or modify payment information, or cancel the account.

Any available discounts pertaining to plan upgrades will also be listed under this heading.

upgrade.png

*Please note that some discounts are only available if you subscribe to Premium when first subscribing to Uptime.com.

Viewing Invoices

Both account owners and administrators have the ability to view invoice history and account usage. 

Subscription Info

The current subscription price, billing cycle, and next charge date can be found at the top of the My Subscription page under Subscription. 

Viewing Usage and Invoices

To view the invoices for the history of the account, click view under Invoices.

To view account usage for the current period click view under Usage.

Please note: To change an account's owner, contact support@uptime.com

Account Details

Screen_Shot_2022-03-23_at_2.43.06_PM.png

From this screen, account Owners can edit the primary email address, first and last name of the owner profile, Company name, phone number, address, set the account timezone, and set two-factor authentication requirements.

New invoices will reflect any changes to the company details on this page. 

details-page.png

The invoice you will receive from Uptime.com uses information from the following fields:

  • Company
  • Phone
  • Address

Additionally, the invoice will contain the date issued and your invoice number as well as the company address and name of Uptime.com.

invoice.png

Payment methods can be changed by account Owners only from the Billing Settings page.

Two-Factor Authentication

Return

Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) offers Time-Based One-Time Password (TOTP) authentication for every account tier. This additional layer of security is an excellent alternative for accounts that do not utilize SSO, and is a highly recommended step in account security. 2FA can be enabled account-wide from the Account Details page: 

require-2fa-acct-wide.png

It is also possible to adjust individual 2FA permissions by user.

Once activating 2FA, users must first log out and re-enter the username and password to complete the setup of TOTP provider via either QR code or access key.

2FA-setup-alt.png

Upon successful setup, accounts with 2FA enabled will require 2FA for all future login attempts unless overridden by individual user.

Sending an Invoice from Uptime.com to a Specific User

Return

Any user on an Uptime.com account can receive invoices regardless of account status.

Navigate to Settings>Users, then locate the user who should receive invoices from the list of registered Uptime.com users. Click the Actions>Edit, and tick the box to Send New Invoices Via Email from the User Edit screen. Checking this box will send future invoices via email directed to the address that belongs to the designated user.

Designated User Privileges

Return

Invoicing in Uptime.com is privilege-based, meaning that only account Owners can change billing settings. This includes modifying or changing the primary credit card, debit card, or PayPal associated with the account, and changing subscription status.

Owners can designate a user (or users) to receive invoices via email, but those designated users cannot pay or respond to invoices.

Tips and Best Practices

Return

Consider hierarchy when creating an account, especially for larger companies with more users attached to a single account. Owners are usually those able to make a purchase on behalf of your company, while administrators and user accounts can handle the functionality of creating checks and monitoring alerts.

Anyone on your staff that needs to view or process invoices internally can do so without Owner privileges. With email, these users don’t even need to log in to Uptime.com.

Inspect Account Usage

Return

At any time, you may view the details of your account usage for Uptime.com services. This screen will help administrators looking to maximize the value of Uptime.com with a quick overview of several important account metrics including:

  • Checks used
  • Available locations
  • Monthly SMS and Call numbers
  • Any SMS credits available
  • Number of users on an account
  • Availability of API, Content Matching, and Custom Branded Reporting services
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful