Check States | Filtering, Pausing, and Deleting Checks

Uptime.com checks can be in various states that affect the alerts you receive. This article will cover these states in greater detail. 

Table of Contents

Check States

Return

Check

Checks view filtered for Up, Down, and Paused checks

A check can be in one of four different states:

  • Up - Check state is reported as OK and Uptime.com has not issued an alert.
  • Down - Check state is reported as CRITICAL. Uptime.com has issued an alert.
  • Paused - Check is not actively monitoring, collecting metrics, or issuing alerts.
  • Maintenance - Check is in maintenance state. Click here to learn more about maintenance states.

Pausing a Check

Return

Pause a check from Monitoring > Checks. Click the box next to the check you wish to pause, and select the pause icon.

If you would like to pause checks in bulk, tick the box next to the Name title for all checks to be paused, then select the pause icon from the generated bulk menu.

 

Pausing

It is also possible to filter your view to include checks in various states:

Check

 

Pausing a Group Check

Return

A Group Check nests individual checks, and pausing this check type applies differently than normal check types. Because a Group Check functions similarly to an individual check, pausing a Group check pauses only the Group check and not the checks nested within.

Deleting a Check

Return

Delete a check from Monitoring > Checks. Tick the box next to the check you wish to delete, then select the delete icon.,

To delete checks in bulk, tick the box next to the Name title, then select the delete icon from the generated bulk menu.

Please Note: Deleted checks and associated alerts will be non-recoverable after 30 days.

Deleting Checks in a Group Check

Return

A Group Check nests individual checks, and deletion of check applies differently to this check type. 

A Group Check in this sense can be considered like an individual check. Deleting a Group check does not delete any checks nested within it. However, deleting an individual check from within a Group check does remove that check from your account.

Please note: If a deleted check was configured as the Group Check’s response time calculation source, then the response time graph will remain empty until a new Response Time Calculation mode or check source is selected. For more information on these settings, see the individual entries in Check Field Explanations.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 2 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.

Have more questions?
Submit a request
Share it, if you like it.